Armenia Gets 4th Pot for Euro 2016

The Euro 2016 will be hosted by France

NYON, Switzerland—The qualifying draw for the UEFA Euro 2016 soccer tournament took place on Friday when 53 teams were split into six pots that will eventually form nine groups – eight of six countries and one of five.

Armenia appeared in Pot 4 together with Montenegro, Scotland, Finland, Latvia, Wales, Bulgaria, Estonia and Belarus.

There are no restrictions on the draw other than seeding, though for political reasons the UEFA Executive Committee has ruled that Azerbaijan cannot meet Armenia, and Spain cannot play Gibraltar.

The results of the draw are the following.

Pot 1: Spain (champions), Germany, Netherlands, Italy, England, Portugal, Greece, Russia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina

Pot 2: Ukraine, Croatia, Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary, and Republic of Ireland

Pot 3: Serbia, Turkey, Slovenia, Israel, Norway, Slovakia, Romania, Austria, and Poland

Pot 4: Montenegro, Armenia, Scotland, Finland, Latvia, Wales, Bulgaria, Estonia, and Belarus

Pot 5: Iceland, Northern Ireland, Albania, Lithuania, Moldova, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Cyprus

Pot 6: Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Faroe Islands, Malta, Andorra, San Marino, and Gibraltar


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.

One Comment;

  1. robig said:

    i can see how turkey gets in with 10% of its land mass in europe, but how does israel get in? kazakhstan?