Pilibos Inducts New Class of Scholars in National Honor Society

Rose and Alex Pilibos students at their National Honor Society induction ceremony

LITTLE ARMENIA—The Rose and Alex Pilibos Armenian School is proud to be a part of the National Honor Society. Students who have achieved a cumulative 3.7 GPA by the end of tenth grade receive an invitation to apply for membership in NHS at the beginning of their junior year. On the application the student indicates his or her service hours and leadership activities. The applications are verified and reviewed by a five-member Faculty Council, which either approves or denies the application. If a student is not accepted or eligible during junior year, he or she may be given the opportunity to apply at the beginning of the senior year.

The National Honor Society (NHS) was established in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals to create an organization that would recognize and encourage academic achievement while also developing other characteristics essential to citizens in a democracy.

Today the National Honor Society is the leader among educational organizations and societies that promote recognition for students who reflect outstanding accomplishments in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. Membership in the National Honor Society is a privilege. An NHS member exhibits excellence in academics and leadership, honorable and admirable character, and demonstrates a commitment to service—all of which indicate that the member is willing to use personal talents and skills for the improvement of both self and society.

Pilibos’ current National Honor Society members, who have maintained the highest standards of scholarship, leadership, service, and character for two years, are Shahan Atmajian, Kristine Azatyan, Khajag Bornazyan, Anna Geozalian, Mariam Geysimonyan, Adam Guemidjian, Hagop Kalandjian, Rosemary Karapetyan, Vivian Kasparian, George Kekejian, Arek Kodjanian, Arlene Melkonian, Ani Nalbandian, Samuel Sahagian, and Arsen Tchaghlassian. These students receive a National Honor Society patch at the annual induction ceremony.

This year’s National Honor Society inductees are Karnie Babikian, Rita Blikian, Nareg Bouldoukian, David Derderian, Sandra Donoyan, Ara Ghiulezian, Talar Hovhannisian, Marina Istanboulian, Sarkis Kasparian, Shahe Kazazian, Harout Klian, Kevin Koseyan, Andre Ksajikian, Aram Manoukian, Jacqueline Matian, Katya Orphali, and Ani Tankazyan. These students receive a National Honor Society membership card and pin. The Pilibos faculty are proud of their students and their accomplishments. This group of 32 12th and 11th grade students are true examples of leaders at Rose and Alex Pilibos Armenian School.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.