Armenian Defense and Foreign Ministers Stay in Office

Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian and Defense Minister Seyran Ohanian

YEREVAN (Arka)—Armenian defense minister Seyran Ohanyan and foreign affairs minister Edward Nalbandian have retained their posts in the new government of Prime Minister Hovik Abrahamian, the press service of the Armenian president reported.

The statement said corresponding decrees reappointing both ministers were signed today by President Serzh Sarkisian.

Hovik Abrahamian, who served as chairman of the National Assembly, was appointed as new prime minister by president Sarkisian after Sunday’s extraordinary meeting of the governing body of the ruling Republican Party of Armenia. Abrahamian replaced the ex head of the government, Tigran Sargsyan, who resigned on April 3.

Under the Constitution, the new cabinet must be formed within twenty days from the date of the appointment of prime minister. The president has the right to appoint several key ministers. The rest are nominated by the head of the government.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.