Millions to See ‘Orphans of the Genocide’ As it Begins Run on KCET, LinkTV

Oprhans of the Genocide

First broadcast on KCET Los Angeles slated for Wednesday, April 8 at 9 p.m.

LOS ANGELES—Millions of television viewers across Southern California and around the country will have a chance to see the award-winning documentary by “Orphans of the Genocide,” produced by Bared Maronian.

The national broadcast of the documentary will kick off on Wednesday at 9 p.m. on KCET Channel 28, LA’s independent station. The program will repeat on April 12 at 5 p.m. and April 25 at 4 p.m.

“Orphans of the Genocide” will also air on the nationwide LinkTV channel and online service available via satellite providers DirectTV and Dish Network. LinkTV will broadcast the program on Thursday April 23 at 4 p.m. Pacific time (7 p.m. Eastern); Saturday April 25, 5 a.m. Pacific (8 a.m. Eastern); and on Sunday April 26, 3 p.m. Pacific (6 p.m. Eastern).

“Orphans of the Genocide” weaves historical archives with interviews and memoirs of Armenian orphans to establish irrevocable proof of the Armenian Genocide. An emotional, visual journey through never-before-seen archival footage and memoirs of orphans who lived through the last century’s first, fully documented and least recognized genocide in 1915, “Orphans of the Genocide” features insightful interviews with such prominent figures and scholars as British journalist Robert Fisk, Clark University’s Director of Strassler Family Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Professor Debora Dwork, and Armenian-American Dr. Jack Kevorkian among others.

Over the last several years, “Orphans of the Genocide” has been broadcast on PBS stations nationwide, reaching over 12 million viewers. Additionally, the documentary has been invited to participate at various events and film festivals throughout the U.S., Canada, Europe, as well as in the Middle East and South America, earning numerous awards.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.