Armenia a Step Closer to Europe Union

STRASBOURG (Reuter)–Armenia–Azerbaijan and Georgia will sign on April 25–the Council of Europe’s cultural convention–the Council said Thursday.

The Council–which safeguards human rights and democracy in its 40 member states–said in a statement this "represents a first step towards membership of the Council of Europe."

Forty-four countries have already signed the convention–which covers cooperation on culture–education–teaching–athletic and youth issues.

Armenia–Georgia and Azerbaijan have benefited from special guest status at the Council since last year.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.