CEC Accepts Nominations for Presidential Candidates

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–Nomination of presidential candidates at the Central Electoral Committee began on Tuesday. As of noon on Tuesday–the following candidates were nominated through civil initiative: chairman of the National-Democratic Union Vazgen Manoukian (11 applications); chairman of the Self-Determination Union Baruyr Hairikian (4 applications)–president of the non-partisan "MYUD" Legal Group Yuri Mkrtchian (1 application); director of the non-partisan "Armelectromash" joint stock company Karen Demirchian (1 application)–parliament member David Shahnazarian (1 application); chairman of the New Path Party Ashot Bleyan (1 application).

The following candidates were nominated at the CEC through party initiative: chairman of the Ramkavar Party of Armenia Vigen Khachatrian; and chairman of the Armenian Assembly of Armenia Tigran Sahakian.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.