Fourteen Parties to Comprise Political Council

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–According to information provided by the Armenian presidential press office–details of the President’s Political Council have been announced–and further administrative aspects of the Council are to be discussed in the near future. The Political Council–according to the information–will be a temporary body–existing most probably until the parliamentary elections.

The Council will be comprised of representatives of 14 Armenian political parties.

The Council will be asked to consider an array of issues–including economic–local governance–domestic and foreign policy issues–and it will make recommendations to the President and the necessary ministries on those issues.

More detailed tasks of the Council–as well as the administrative governance of the body are being discussed. It is said that President Robert Kocharian will possibly preside over the Council–calling monthly meetings of the group. The Council’s secretary’s position is also being outlined.

Parties to be represented in the Council include–the Self-Determination Union–Yergrapah Voluntary Union–the Scientific and Industrial Civic Union–the Democratic Party of Armenia–the Youth Council of Armenia–the Republican Party of Armenia–the Communist Party of Armenia–the Ramgavar Party of Armenia–the Armenian Revolutionary Federation–the Constitutional Rights Union–the Armenian Socialists Group–Armenian National Movement–the National Democratic Union and the Shamiram Social and Civic Organization.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.