Finnish Parliamentary Delegation Arrives in Armenia

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)– A Finnish parliamentary delegation led by the chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee–Marcus Aaltonen arrived in Armenia on Thursday for a three-day visit.

Talking to journalists at the "Zvartnots" airport–Aaltonen said that next year Finland will chair in the Council of Europe and that representatives of the country’s legislative body will pay regular visits to European countries. Armenia is not an exception–and the Finnish MPs are willing to become aquatinted with the country and its internal political situation.

When asked about his expectations of the meeting with their Armenian colleagues–the leader of the Finnish delegation pointed out that the cooperation between the two countries’ legislators will create pre-conditions for the further development of the relations between the two countries.

The members of the delegation will meet with the speaker of the Armenian Parliament–prime minister–foreign minister–as well as will visit St. Echmiadzin and Tsitsernakaberd.

The Finnish Parliament consists of one chamber and includes 200 members–67 of whom are women. Deputies are elected for four years. The Parliament has 13 special and one large committees.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.