Parliament Members to Receive Mandates Wednesday

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–An official ceremony of issuing deputy mandates to 129 newly elected members of the National Assembly will be held at the Reception Hall of the Armenian Government on June 9.

In addition to the CEC-published list of the newly elected members of Parliament–Alexan Hakobian (non-partisan–member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Defense–Internal Affairs and National Security)–who was elected in election district 20 in Yerevan–will also be issued a deputy mandate. The Yerevan Election Committee registered him as a deputy after completing the verifications in the initially considered null election district.

The first meeting of the newly elected Parliament is scheduled at 10 a.m.–this Thursday. Some 50 out of the 129 members of the new National Assembly are reelected officials.

Of the four women elected into Parliament–one of them–Hran’sh Hakobian–was elected by the majorititarian election system–the others–Hermine Naghdalian–Emma Khudabashian (the "Unity" bloc)–and Alvard Petrossian (ARF) were elected by the proportional election system.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.