New Armenian Cabinet Announced

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–Armenian President Robert Kocharian issued two decrees late Tuesday evening–one announcing the number of ministries with the new Armenian cabinet and the other announcing the ministers occupying those posts–announced Presidential press secretary Ara Papian.

In the first decree–Kocharian administered 25 ministries to work within the new cabinet.

By the same decree–Kocharian also separated the Interior and National Security ministry into two separate ministries. A similar separation was made within the economy and finance ministries.

Papian said that the newly created State Revenue Ministry would take over the tasks of the internal revenue service and the customs department.

Below is the list of minister and ministries in the new cabinet:

Vazgen Sargsyan: Prime Minister

Serj Sarkisian: National Security Minister

Haig Nigoghosyan: Health Minister

Davit Harutunyan: Justice Minister

Haig Gevorkyan: Trade and Industry Minister

Vahan Shirkhanyan: Production Infrastructure Minister

Vartan Oskanian: Foreign Minister

Gevork Vardanyan: Environmental Protection Minister

Gagik Shahbazyan: Agriculture Minister

Armen Darbinian: Economy Minister

Davit Zadoyan: Energy Minister

Shahen Karamanoukian: Cabinet Chief of Staff

Edward Ghazarian: Education Minister

Roland Sharoyan: Culture–Youth Issues and Sports Minister

Souren Abrahamian: Interior Minister

Vagharshak Harutiunian: Defense Minister

Smbat Ayvazyan: State Revenue Minister

Pavel Ghaltaghtchyan: Privatization Minister

Razmik Martirossyan: Social Security Minister

Stepan Mnatsakanyan: Census & Analysis Minister

Khosrov Harutiunian: Regional Government Minister

Yervand Zakharyan: Transport Minister

Rouben Tonoyan: Post & Communications Minister

Hrair Hovhanessyan: Housing & Urban Development Minister

Leonard Petrossian: Operative & Logistical Issues Minister

Levon Barkhoudarian: Finance Minister


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.