Berikian to Replace Vardanian As Parliament Member

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–At its meeting March 7–the Central Electoral Commission (CEC)–proceeding from Article 67 of the Constitution–Articles 18 and 19 of the Regulations of the National Assembly–Articles 63 and 118 of the Election Code–made a decision to register Filaret Berikian as Parliament member. Berikian will replace David Vardanian who was appointed Minister of National Property. According to the Election Code–the mandate of the member of Parliament who was elected by the proportional election system and resigned ahead of time is to be handed over to the candidate who is listed next in the party ticket within a week.

CEC Chairman Artak Sahradian reported that according to Article 118 of the Election Code elections will be held in elections districts NN 5,8,16 in Yerevan–and in election district N 51 in the Lori region. The member of Parliament from election district N 5 was appointed minister. The other three election district’s Parliament seats–formerly occupied by Armenak Armenakian–Vahan Zatikian and Souren Avetissian–were open due to the member’s deaths.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.