Yesayan Re Elected Karabakh Parliament Speaker

STEPANAKERT (Armenpress)–The Nagorno-Karabakh Republic National Assembly Wednesday held its first session–during which Oleg Yesayan was re-elected as the speaker of the parliament

In the speaker election process–two parliament members were nominate–Oleg Yesayan of the Democratic Organization of Karabakh and Maxim Mirzoyan of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation.

Following a lengthy discussion on the election processes and debate about the candidates–the ARF parliamentary bloc decided that it would not take part in the election. Of the remaining 24 representatives 22 voted for Yesayan–while two votes were deemed invalid.

Present at the inaugural session of Karabakh’s third parliament were Archbishop Parkev Martirossian–Primate of the Artsakh Diocese and Karabakh Central Electoral Commission chairman Sergey Davitian.

Before convening the legislative session–Archbishop Martirossian blessed the parliament–following which Davitian–reiterated that the entire parliamentary election process has been deemed valid and that all 33 representatives were elected fairly.

Meanwhile–nine of the elections have been called into question and cases have been filed in the Karabakh supreme court–which–per Karabakh law–will have 30 days to determine the validity of the vote–based on testimony and data.

Of the nine complaints–five have been filed by members in the ARF candidate pool.


Related posts

Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.