Balayan Wins By Election for Vacant Parliamentary Seat.

YEREVAN (RFE/RL)–In a by-elections held Sunday in Yeravan’s Arabkir electoral district–Kim Balayan–a member of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation was elected to the National Assembly from a single mandate constituency.

According to preliminary results released by the regional electoral commission–6,300 registered voters cast their ballots in Sunday’s election. 2,550 people voted for Kim Balayan–2,208 for independent candidate Yeghia Shamshian–1,014 for Vasgen Safarian and 590 for Zenik Sarkissian. A heated contest began last month for the vacant seat of Communist parliament deputy Leonid Hakobian–who was given a ministerial post in the Cabinet of former Prime Minister Aram Sargsyan.

Yeghia Shamshan–an independent candidate was the winner of first round of voting on May 21. But receiving a complaint from his rival Kim Balayan and after a careful review of voting irregularities reported by him–the local electoral commission annulled the poll results and scheduled a new ballot.

This time Kim Balayan seems to be the clear winner. If elected–Kim Balayan will join the ARF Parliamentary faction which currently numbers eight deputies.

But Yeghia Shamshian and Zenik Sarkissian told our correspondent they have evidence of irregularities and they will certainly file an official complaint with the electoral commission.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.