Parties Choose Slate for Lebanon Elections

BEIRUT–A statement issued by the Armenian Revolutionary Federation and the Social Democratic Hunchakian Party Monday–publicized the formal list of candidates running for upcoming parliamentary elections as representatives of the Lebanese-Armenian community.

The candidates will represent Armenian communities in the Beka–Beirut and Metn districts.

The announcement stated that talks between political parties had been ongoing–in an effort to bring about a united list of candidates representing the entire community. However–the announcement pointed out–the Armenian Democratic League (Ramkavar party) opted to make its own political alignmen’s and thus is not represented on the united list.

"This unnecessarily premature move by the ADL–which veered from the national posturing [of the community] brought forth a crisis within the party–as a result of which–the ADL Lebanon regional executive resigned," explained the joint announcement.

Parties explained that talks with religious leaders of all denominations–community organizations and other leaders–resulted in a productive dialogue–which enabled to alienate forces which aimed to create schism within the larger community–and brought about a list of United Armenian Bloc. Below is the list of candidates

George Kasarji (Armenian Apostolic seat-Bekaa) –

Abraham Dedeyan (Armenian Evangelical seat seat/Beirut’s first district–no party affiliation).

Mihran Safarian (Armenian Apostolic seat/Beirut’s second district–Huchnak member);

Hagop Pakradouni (Armenian Apostolci seat/Beirut’s third district–ARF);

Artur Nazarian (Armenian Apostolic/Beirut’s third district–no party);

Stepan Abajian (Armenian Catholic seat/ Beirut’s third district–no party); and

Sebouh Hovnanian (Armenian Apostolic seat/North Metn–ARF).

The two parties urged all voters to take part in the elections and vote for the United Armenian Bloc.


Related posts

Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.