Parliament Opposes Plan to Draw New Districts in Armenia

YEREVAN (Armenpress)–Some parliament members and senior government officials opposed a bill on making amendmen’s to the Law on Administrative Division of Armenia–prepared and submitted to the parliament’s approval by the government.

Hearings on the issue–organized by parliament’s committee on state and legal issues were also attended by representatives from the provinces and regional experts.

The most controversial point in the proposed amendmen’s was concerning the new administrative division of the country. The bill–presented by the head of Geography Department at Yerevan State University Lenvel Valesian–proposes to divide Armenia into five major administrative units instead of current 11 provinces–which–in their turn would be sub-divided into 16 smaller ones–three in Syunik–Gegharkunik and Lori-Pambak–two in Shirak and five in the Yerevan administrative regions.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.