Karekin II Appoints Supreme Spiritual Council

ETCHMIADZIN–Sources at Holy Etchmiadzin reported that His Holines Karekin II–Catholicos of All Armenia’s appointed a new Supreme Spiritual Council Thursday.

Karekin II is the president of the council–while Arch. Torgom Manougian and Arch. Mesrob Mutafyan–the patriarchs of Jerusalm and Istanbul co-chair the countic–which includes four lay members.

Included in the Council are Archbishops Zaven Chinchinyan–Western Primate Vatche Hovsepian–Kyud Nakkashian–Aghan Baliozian–Mesrob Grigorian–Barkev Mardirossian–Gisak Mouradian–Khajag Martirossian–Hovnanon Derdian–as well as bishops Yeznik Petrosyan–Sebouh Chouldjian–Navasart Kjoyan and Paren Avedikian.

The lay members of the council are Academician Vladimir Barkhoudarian–Prof. Rafael Babyan–Azad Bozoyan and Eduard Jaqueyan.

The Council will have its first plenary session from Nov. 6 to 7–presided over by Catholicos Karekin II.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.