Foreign Ministers of Unrecognized Republics to Meet in Dubai

TBILISI (Armenpress)–The regular third meeting of the foreign affairs ministers of the four unrecognized countries in the post-Soviet territory (Abkhazia–Trans Dniester–Nagorno Karabakh and South Ossetia) is to be held in Tskhinvali–South Ossetia’s capital in summer 2002. South Ossetia’s Foreign Affairs Minister Murad Jioyev said the meeting should have been held last autumn but it was put off because of armed conflicts between the guerrillas and North Caucasians and the Abkhaz army in Abkhazia Kodor Canyon.

Previous meetings of foreign ministers were held in Tiraspol and Stepanakert. Issues of common interest for the four unrecognized republics were discussed during the meetings. A permanent council of the four countries’ foreign ministers was established–Jioyev said. He underlined the fact that no issue of establishing a military treaty by these four countries has ever been discussed.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.