‘Pro Armenia’ Conference Gains Rapid Momentum

More than 100 goverment–political–academic figures to particpate Organized by the ANC European body of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation–European Armenian Federation for Justice and Democracy–the ‘Pro-Armenia’ conference to be held January 31-February 1 in Paris–has received great response from various international government and political circles–with the number of participants exceeding one-hundred. Catholicos Aram I of the Great House of Cilicia will also participate.

The following is a highlight of participants:


Raul Alfonsin–Former President; Ruben Giustiniani–Secretary General of the Socialist Party; Fernando Maurette–Vice Minister of Defense; Eurnekian Antranik–and others


Hovanes Hovhannisyan–Parliamentary Foreign Relations Committee Chairman; Armen Khatchadrian–Chairman of National Assembly; David Lokian–Minister of Urban Planning; Christian Ter Stepanian–Permanent Representative of Armenia at the Council of Europe; Levon Mkrtchian– Minister of Education and Science; Vartan Mkrtchian–Parliament member; Vartan Oskanian–Minister of Foreign Affairs; Armen Rustamian–Member of Armenian delegation at Consul of Europe; Dikran Torossian–Parliament member; Aghvan Vartanian–Parliament member; Hrant Voskanian–Parliament member


Oleg Essayan–Parliament Speaker;Armen Sarksian–Minister of Cuture and Youth


Antonio Kandir–Former Minister of Budger–Parliament member


Eleni Bakopanos–Parliament member–Asst. Deputy Speaker of House of Commons; Noushig Eloyan–Mayor of Montreal; Shirley Maheu–Senator; Marcel Prud’homme–Senator; Raymond Setlakwe–Senator


Vassos Lissarides–Former President of National Assembly; Bedros Kalaydjian–Armenian representative in Parliament


Daniele Mitterand–Wife of former French President Francois Mitterand; Francois Rochebloine–Parliament member; Rene Rouquet–Parliament member


Armen Haghnazarian–Specialist in Armenian architecture; Tessa Hoffman–International law expert


Armen Gevorkian–Journalist; Yourig Khetchoyan–Parliament members; Givi Shugarov–First Deputy Head–Foreign Relations Committe of Parliament


Ghiorghos Hourmouziadis and Anastasis Papalighouras–Members of Greek-Armenian Parliamentary Friendship Group; Theodoros Pangalos–Parliament member


Geogig Abrahamian–Member of parliament; Dr. Kabab Kabiri–VP–Center for Strategic Studies;Levon Tavitian–Member of parliament


Yair Auron–University Professor


Chahe Barsoumian–Former Minister of Oil; Jacques Choukhadarian–Former parliament member; Nouridjan Demirdjian–Former parliament member; Marwan Hamade–Former Minister of Interior; Sebouh Hovnanian–Youth and Sports Minister; Georges Kasarji–Parliament member; Michel Murr–Former Prime Minister–Former Minister of Interior


Andrei Chabovaliantz–Former Minister of Economy; Gennady Shorshorov– Deputy; Dimitri Rogozin–Duma President of the Committee for Foreign Affairs; Nikolay Ryzhkov–Former Prime Minister; Ashot Sarkissian–Deputy; Arthur Chilingarov–Vice-Speaker oF Duma


Rafael Michelini–Senator


Stavros J. Mendros–State Representative; Mark Souder–Congressman

ARF Bureau members will be present–as well as the heads of ANC Europe and America–and the ARF Bureau Representative in Moscow Seyran Baghdassarian

The working session of the conference will be held on February 1–and will cover the following topics: Armenia and Armenia’s in The 21st Century (Armen Rustamian–Chair)–Armenia’s Integration into the Caucasus Economy-Challenging Globalization (Hilda Tchoboian–Chair)–and Hai Tahd–The Genocide and The 21st Century (Ken Hachikian–Chair).

A formal reception and banquet will be held that evening.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.