Armenia’s Presidential Cabinet Takes Shape

YEREVAN (Combined Sources)–President Robert Kocharian signed on Wednesday decrees dismissing ministers from office to make way for new ministerial appointmen’s to his new cabinet. Dismissed were the Minister of Health Ararat Mkrtchian–Minister of Social Security Razmik Martirosian–Minister of Education and Science Levon Mkrtchian–Minister of Agriculture David Zadoyan–Minister of Culture–Youth Affairs and Sport Roland Sharoyan.

The new appointmen’s include Tamara Poghosian Minister of Culture and Youth Affairs–David Lokian Minister of Agriculture–Aghvan Vardanian Minister of Social Security–Norayr Davidian–Minister of Health–Sergo Yeritsian Minister of Education and Science–and Ara Aramian Minister of Urban Development.

Tamara Poghosian and Sergo Yeritsian are members of Orinats Yerkir Party–while David Lokian–Aghvan Vardanian and Norayr Davidian are members of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation.

President Kocharian also signed a decree amending a March 16–2002 presidential decree on "Establishing Government Structure," to reorganize the Ministry of Culture–Youth Affairs and Sport. In effect–a government commission on Physical Training and Sports has been created–along with a Ministry of Culture and Youth Affairs.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.