Kocharian Reinstates Honors in Arts And Law

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)-By way of a presidential decree–Armenia’s president Robert Kocharian presented honorary titles to a number of Armenian artists for their contribution to culture–and members of the legal community for their active work in jurisprudence. The gesture reinstated a lost custom of bestowing titles to exceptional citizens.

"Art is always personalized and whatever has been achieved in this realm–is the accomplishment of the artists; I merely registered that fact by this decree," said President Kocharian.

Receiving People’s Artist of Armenia accolades for their cultural achievemen’s in developing the arts in theater and cinema–as well as for their extensive contribution to art education were film director Albert Mkrtchian–Artistic Director of the National Sundukian Theater Gabriel Vahe Shahverdian–Russian State Stanislavsky Dramatic Theater actress Leyli Khachatrian–Hrachya Ghaplanian Dramatic Theater actor Artur Utmazian–Yerevan Young Spectator Theater’s Ninel Dallakian–and Sundukian Theater’s Lorenz Arushanian.

Title of Deserved Artist of Armenia was given to Artistic Director of the Yerevan State Puppet Theater Armen Elbakian–Artistic Director of Artashat’s State Dramatic Theater Hayk Mnatsakanian and Artistic Director of the "Metro" Theater Nikolay Tsaturian.

Honorary Deserved Artist of Armenia titles were bestowed to Director of Kapan’s Shirvanzade State Dramatic Theater Kamo Arzumianian–Stanislavsky Theater actress Irina Marchenko–Opera and Ballet National Academic Theater soloist Anahit Mkhitarian–Gyumri State Vardan Achemian Dramatic Theater actor Yuri Voskanian–Hrachya Ghaplanian Dramatic Theater actress Evelina Shahirian–Hagop Baronian State Musical Comedy Theater actor Boris Pepanian–Director General of Kapan’s Shirvanzade Theater Vazgen Sargsian.

For their great contribution to the development of law and jurisprudence–title of Deserved Attorney was given to Chairman of the Republic of Armenia (RA) Court of Review and Chairman of the Board of RA Court Henrik Danielian–Dean of the Department of Law at Yerevan State University (YSU) Gagik Ghazinian–Head of the YSU Chair of Criminal Proceedings and Criminal Law Levon Ohanian–Professor of YSU Department of Law Gegham Gharakhanian–Head of the Notary Department of the Armenian Justice Ministry Mariam Gaboyan–and Chairman of the Gegharkounik region’s Court of First Appeal Vazgen Nikolian.

The title of People’s Artist of Armenia was last conferred fourteen years ago; honors in law–sixteen years ago.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.