Five Armenia’s Elected to Georgian Parliament

TBILISI (Armenpress)–Five Armenia’s were elected to Georgia’s parliament in the March 28 nationwide elections. Two Armenia’s Melik Raisian and Van Bayburdian–were reelected from a proportional list of the governing coalition–while Henzel Mkoyan–Hamlet Movsisian–and Hayk Miltonian were elected by a single mandate. Six Armenia’s previously served in Georgia’s parliament.

There was high voter turnout in Georgia’s predominantly Armenian-populated region of Javakhk–with 90% of eligible voters casting ballots. In the Akhalkalak region–approximately 30,000 of 33,000 registered voters turned out; in Ninotsminda–17,200 of 18,300; in Tsalka–9,000 out of 13,000; and in Akhaltsikha–11,000 out of 15,000. The majority in all regions voted in favor of the ruling bloc.


Related posts

Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.