178 US Representatives Urge President to Properly Characterize the Armenian Genocide

–Record Level of Support for Congressional Letter Sends Strong Message to White House

WASHINGTON–DC–A record number of US Representatives sent a Congressional letter to President Bush on Wednesday–urging him to reaffirm the US record on the Armenian genocide by properly characterizing the atrocities as "genocide." The letter comes days after a similar Senate initiative–which garnered the support of an unprecedented 32 Senators–a 45% increase over the previous year.

The April 20 letter–spearheaded by Congressional Armenian Caucus Co-Chairmen Frank Pallone (D-NJ) and Joe Knollenberg (R-MI)–stresses that "by properly recognizing the terrible atrocities committed against the Armenian people as ‘genocide’ in your statement–you will honor the many Americans who helped launch the unprecedented US diplomatic–political–and humanitarian campaign to end the carnage and protect the survivors."

"We were very gratified by the announcement this evening by the Co-Chairman of the Armenian Caucus that a record total of one hundred and seventy-eight US Representatives have joined together in calling on the President to properly recognize the Armenian Genocide in his April 24th remarks," said Aram Hamparian–Executive Director of the ANCA–following a special 90th anniversary Armenian genocide observance on Capitol Hill.

"Along with the thirty-two Senators who sent a similar letter earlier this week to the White House–this brings to two hundred and ten the total number of US legislators formally calling for the President to speak with historical accuracy and moral clarity about this crime against humanity. We welcome this unprecedented level of Congressional leadership and urge the President to heed their call and honor the pledge he made in February of 2000 to properly recognize the Armenian Genocide."

Representatives Pallone and Knollenberg–in a March 3 letter to their House colleagues–encouraged them to lend their voice to the effort noting–that "by properly affirming the Armenian Genocide–we can help ensure the legacy of the Genocide is remembered so this human tragedy will not be repeated." Over the past several weeks–Armenian Americans from across the US have been sending ANCA WebFaxes to their Representatives urging them to co-sign the letter to the President.

On April 7–Representative Knollenberg joined with Republican House Members George Radanovich (R-CA)–Michael Bilirakis (R-FL)–Mark Souder (R-IN) and Mark Foley (R-FL) in urging their party colleagues to encourage Pres. Bush to follow Senator Dole’s lead and "simply tell the truth."

Members of Congress joining Reps. Pallone and Knollenberg in co-signing the letter included: Neil Abercrombie (D-HI)–Gary Ackerman (D-NY)–Tom Allen (D-ME)–Robert Andrews (D-NJ)–Joe Baca (D-CA)–Brian Baird (D-WA)–Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)–Charles Bass (R-NH)–Melissa Bean (D-IL)–Bob Beauprez (R-CO)–Xavier Becerra (D-CA)–Shelley Berkley (D-NV)–Howard Berman (D-CA)–Michael Bilirakis (R-FL)–Sanford Bishop (D-GA)–Tim Bishop (D-NY)–Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)–Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)–Mary Bono (R-CA)–Jeb Bradley (R-NH)–Sherrod Brown (D-OH)–Ken Calvert (R-CA)–Lois Capps (D-CA)–Michael Capuano (D-MA)–Benjamin Cardin (D-MD)–Dennis Cardoza (D-CA)–Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO)–John Conyers (D-MI)–Jim Costa (D-CA)–Jerry Costello (D-IL)–Christopher Cox (R-CA)–Joseph Crowley (D-NY)–Duke Cunningham (R-CA)–Danny Davis (D-IL)–Susan Davis (D-CA)–Peter DeFazio (D-OR)–William Delahunt (D-MA)–Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)–Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL)–John Dingell (D-MI)–Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)–John Doolittle (R-CA)–Mike Doyle (D-PA)–David Dreier (R-CA)–Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)–Rahm Emanuel (D-IL)–Eliot Engel (D-NY)–Anna Eshoo (D-CA)–Lane Evans (D-IL)–Sam Farr (D-CA)–Chaka Fattah (D-PA)–Tom Feeney (R-FL)–Mike Ferguson (R-NJ)–Bob Filner (D-CA)–Mike Fitzpatrick (R-PA)–Mark Foley (R-FL)–Vito Fossella (R-NY)–Barney Frank (D-MA)–Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)–Scott Garrett (R-NJ)–Jim Gerlach (R-PA)–Mark Green (R-WI)–Gene Green (D-TX)–Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)–Luis Gutierrez (D-IL)–Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)–Tim Holden (D-PA)–Rush Holt (D-NJ)–Michael Honda (D-CA)–Steny Hoyer (D-MD)–Steve Israel (D-NY)–Darrell Issa (R-CA)–Jesse Jackson (D-IL)–Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)–Nancy Johnson (R-CT)–Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-OH)–Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)–Sue Kelly (R-NY)–Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)–Dale Kildee (D-MI)–Carolyn Kilpatrick (D-MI)–Mark Kirk (R-IL)–Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)–James Langevin (D-RI)–John Larson (D-CT)–Steven LaTourette (R-OH)–Barbara Lee (D-CA)–Sander Levin (D-MI)–John Lewis (D-GA)–Daniel Lipinski (D-IL)–Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)–Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)–Nita Lowey (D-NY)–Dan Lungren (R-CA)–Stephen Lynch (D-MA)–Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)–Edward Markey (D-MA)–Jim Matheson (D-UT)–Doris Matsui (D-CA)–Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)–Betty McCollum (D-MN)–Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI)–Jim McDermott (D-WA)–James McGovern (D-MA)–John McHugh (R-NY)–Mike McIntyre (D-NC)–Buck McKeon (R-CA)–Michael McNulty (D-NY)–Martin Meehan (D-MA)–Robert Menendez (D-NJ)–Michael Michaud (D-ME)–George Miller (D-CA)–Candice Miller (R-MI)–Gwen Moore (D-WI)–James Moran (D-VA)–Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)–Grace Napolitano (D-CA)–Richard Neal (D-MA)–Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)–Devin Nunes (R-CA)–John Olver (D-MA)–C. L. "Butch" Otter (R-ID)–William Pascrell (D-NJ)–Donald Payne (D-NJ)–Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)–Collin Peterson (D-MN)–Richard Pombo (R-CA)–Jon Porter (R-NV)–George Radanovich (R-CA)–Charles Rangel (D-NY)–Mike Rogers (R-MI)–Mike Ross (D-AR)–Steven Rothman (D-NJ)–Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)–Edward Royce (R-CA)–Bobby Rush (D-IL)–Paul Ryan (R-WI)–John Salazar (D-CO)–Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)–Linda Sanchez (D-CA)–Bernard Sanders (I-VT)–H. James Saxton (R-NJ)–Janice Schakowsky (D-IL)–Adam Schiff (D-CA)–Allyson Schwartz (D-PA)–Joe Schwarz (R-MI)–E. Clay Shaw (R-FL)–Christopher Shays (R-CT)–Brad Sherman (D-CA)–John Shimkus (R-IL)–Rob Simmons (R-CT)–Christopher Smith (R-NJ)–Hilda Solis (D-CA)–Mark Souder (R-IN)–Pete Stark (D-CA)–John Sweeney (R-NY)–Ellen Tauscher (D-CA)–Mike Thompson (D-CA)–John Tierney (D-MA)–Edolphus Towns (D-NY)–Mark Udall (D-CO)–Christopher Van Hollen (D-MD)–Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)–Peter Visclosky (D-IN)–James Walsh (R-NY)–Maxine Waters (D-CA)–Diane Watson (D-CA)–Henry Waxman (D-CA)–Anthony Weiner (D-NY)–Curt Weldon (R-PA)–Gerald Weller (R-IL)–Joe Wilson (R-SC)–Frank Wolf (R-VA)–Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)–David Wu (D-OR)–and Albert Wynn (D-MD).


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.