New Karabagh Assembly Elects Leaders

YEREVAN–Karabagh’s new parliament held its first session on Thursday and elected its leadership. The new speaker of the local assembly is Ashot Ghulian the leader of the Democratic Party of Artsakh (AZhK). Ghulian resigned as Karabagh’s minister of education and culture before taking up the new post. He had previously served as foreign minister.

In his acceptance speech–Ghulian pledged to adhere to "good traditions of the previous parliament." The parliament’s deputy speaker–Rudik Hyusnunts–is a senior member of the Azat Hayrenik (Free Fatherland) party that finished second with 10 seats.

Other Azat Hayrenik deputies–including the party’s leader Arayik Harutiunian–were elected as chairmen of two of the Karabagh National Assembly six standing committees.

Ghukasian–insisting that the election–monitored by over a hundred representatives of foreign non-governmental organizations–was "truly free–fair and transparent," urged lawmakers to be "active" in their work in order to make government more efficient.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.