ANCA Announces Congressional Endorsemen’s

WASHINGTON–With just two weeks to go before the most hotly contested Congressional election in more than a decade, the Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA) today released its 2006 endorsemen’s, throwing the political and electoral strength of the Armenian American community behind supportive candidates for the Senate and House of Representatives from 40 US States. "We are pleased to offer our Congressional endorsemen’s as a resource to help Armenian American voters make informed decisions at the ballot box on November 7th," said ANCA Executive Director Aram Hamparian. "With so many races being closely contested, we encourage all Armenian Americans to go to the polls and support each of our friends, starting in New Jersey with Senator Bob Menendez – ANCA’s top electoral priority for 2006." To the acclaim of Armenian Americans from the Garden State and throughout the nation, Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ), last month, placed a hold on the confirmation of Richard Hoagland, the President’s highly controversial nominee for US Ambassador to Armenia, due to his statemen’s denying the Armenian Genocide. The ANC of New Jersey has mobilized volunteers, donors, and voters across the state to support the Senator’s campaign. The ANCA endorsemen’s are based primarily on the ANCA Congressional Report Card, a detailed review of each incumbent’s record across a broad range of Armenian American issues. These Report Cards, prepared in consultation with local ANCA chapters across the country, cover issues ranging from securing a just resolution of the Armenian Genocide and the strengthening US-Armenia relations to defending Nagorno Karabakh’s independence and increasing US aid and trade levels. Among the specific criteria measured were membership in the Armenian Caucus and willingness to advance pro-Armenian American legislation, including the Armenian Genocide resolutions, the Railroad bill, measures against Turkey and Azerbaijan’s illegal blockades, as well as legislative initiatives to end the genocide that is taking place today in Darfur. Also considered was the level of support for Congressional initiatives demanding the recognition of the Armenian Genocide, calling for increased aid to Armenia and Nagorno Karabakh, supporting the Republic of Nagorno Karabakh’s independence, protesting PBS’s decision to provide a platform for Armenian Genocide deniers, and standing up against the unjustified firing of US Ambassador to Armenia, John Evans, and protesting the President’s unacceptable nominee to replace him in Yerevan. Complete information about grading criteria as well as individual ANCA Report Cards will be posted on the ANCA Website on Friday, October 27. Below is a list of Western Region Congressional endorsemen’s by the ANCA: Arizona: District 4: Ed Pastor (D) District 7: Raul Grijalva (D) Arkansas: District 1: Marion Berry (D) District 4: Mike Ross (D) California: Senate: Dianne Feinstein (D) District 1: Mike Thompson (D) District 3: Dan Lungren (R) District 4: John Doolittle (R) District 5: Doris Matsui (D) District 6: Lynn Woolsey (D) District 7: George Miller (D) District 8: Nancy Pelosi (D) District 9: Barbara Lee (D) District 10: Ellen Tauscher (D) District 11: Richard Pombo (R) District 13: Pete Stark (D) District 14: Anna Eshoo (D) District 15: Michael Honda (D) District 16: Zoe Lofgren (D) District 17: Sam Farr (D) District 18: Dennis Cardoza (D) District 19: George Radanovich (R) District 20: Jim Costa (D) District 21: Devin Nunes (R) District 23: Lois Capps (D) District 24: Elton Gallegly (R) District 25: Buck McKeon (R) District 27: Brad Sherman (D) District 28: Howard Berman (D) District 29: Adam Schiff (D) District 30: Henry Waxman (D) District 31: Xavier Becerra (D) District 32: Hilda Solis (D) District 33: Diane Watson (D) District 34: Lucille Roybal-Allard (D) District 35: Maxine Waters (D) District 37: Juanita Millender-McDonald (D) District 38: Grace Napolitano (D) District 39: Linda Sanchez (D) District 40: Edward Royce (R) District 43: Joe Baca (D) District 44: Ken Calvert (R) District 45: Mary Bono (R) District 46: Dana Rohrabacher (R) District 47: Loretta Sanchez (D) District 48: John Campbell (R) District 49: Darrell Issa (R) District 51: Bob Filner (D) District 53: Susan Davis (D) Colorado: District 1: Diana DeGette (D) District 2: Mark Udall (D) District 4: Marilyn Musgrave (R) Hawaii: Senate: Daniel Akaka (D) District 1: Neil Abercrombie (D) Minnesota: District 4: Betty McCollum (D) District 7: Collin Peterson (D) Nevada: Senate: John Ensign (R) District 1: Shelley Berkley (D) District 3: Jon Porter (R) Oregon: District 3: Earl Blumenauer (D) District 4: Peter DeFazio (D) Texas: District 9: Al Green (D) District 18: Sheila Jackson Lee (D) District 20: Charlie Gonzalez (D) District 22: Nick Lampson (D) – OPEN SEAT District 25: Lloyd Doggett (D) District 29: Gene Green (D) Utah: District 2: Jim Matheson (D) Washington: Senate: Maria Cantwell (D) District 3: Brian Baird (D) District 5: Cathy McMorris (R) District 7: Jim McDermott (D)


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.