Foreign Ministry Announces Visa-Free Travel to Armenia

YEREVAN (Armenpress)-About 30 countries now have visa-free travel agreemen’s with Armenia, where their citizens are no longer required to apply for visas to enter the country, reported the Armenian Foreign Ministry Press Office Tuesday.

According to the ministry’s press office, citizens from Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Hungary, India, Iran, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Turkmen’stan, Uruguay can now travel to Armenia without visa as long as they hold some form of diplomatic or official passport.

Meanwhile, citizens of Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan can enter Armenia with any type of passports.

The lifting of visa restrictions for most of these countries is part of a number of bilateral agreemen’s Armenia holds.

But visa procedures for citizens from Azerbaijan and Singapore, which Armenia has no bilateral agreemen’s with, are based on an ad hoc visa issuance procedure available only on special cases.

People who hold other passports, including the UN’s Laissez-passer passports have to apply for visas.

The procedure for entering the country applicable to Diaspora Armenia’s, however, has not changed. Armenia’s who live abroad are entitled to special residential status, granted by the president of Armenia. A passport for special residential status is issued for 10 years and may be extended. Diaspora Armenia’s with these passports can enter Armenia without visas.

This status is granted to survivors of the Armenian genocide for free.

Foreigners who enter Armenia without visas can stay in country for 90 days during the period of a year, or apply for a residential permit from the visas and passports department.

Foreigners whose fathers, mothers, spouses, or children are citizens of Armenia are exempt from paying state dues for receiving special residential status.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.

One Comment;

  1. Cristina said:

    I don’t understand something here. I am a citizen of Romania and i hold a normal passport. Furthermore, i ahve already visited Armenia last year and i paid for a visa. Do i or do i not have to pay for a visa if i want to go to Armenia again this year???