ANC-PAC California Endorsemen’s

California Endorsemen’s

The ANC-PAC issued the following list of endorsed candidates, who were evaluated based on the candidate’s record on three pieces of legislation:
* AB 498 (Sudan Contract Ban due to the ongoing genocide in Darfur)
* SJR 24 (the Armenian Genocide Resolution for 2008
* SB 515 (reauthorization of the California-Armenia Trade Office)

Additional considerations were made for engagement with the local Armenian American community including meeting with the community in district or in Sacramento and participation in ANC community events.

CA State Senate:
District 01 Dave Cox (R)
District 03 Mark Leno (D)
District 05 Greg Aghazarian (R)
District 07 Mark DeSaulnier (D)
District 09 Loni Hancock (D)
District 11 Joe Simitian (D)
District 13 Elaine Alquist (D)
District 15 Abel Maldonado (R)
District 17 George Runner (R)
District 21 Carol Liu (D)
District 23 Fran Pavley (D)
District 27 Alan Lowenthal (D)
District 29 Bob Huff (R)
District 31 Bob Dutton (R)
District 33 Mimi Walters (R)
District 35 Tom Harman (R)
District 37 John Benoit (R)
District 39 Christine Kehoe (D)

CA State Assembly:
District 04 Ted Gaines (R)
District 05 Roger Niello (R)
District 06 Jared Huffman (D)
District 07 Noreen Evans (D)
District 09 Dave Jones (D)
District 11 Tom Torlakson (D)
District 12 Fiona Ma (D)
District 13 Tom Ammiano (D)
District 16 Sandre Swanson (D)
District 17 Cathleen Galgiani (D)
District 18 Mary Hayashi (D)
District 20 Alberto Torrico (D)
District 21 Ira Ruskin (D)
District 23 Joe Coto (D)
District 24 Jim Beall (D)
District 25 Tom Berryhill (R)
District 28 Anna Caballero (D)
District 29 Mike Villines (R)
District 31 Juan Arambula (D)
District 32 Jean Fuller (D)
District 35 Pedro Nava (D)
District 37 Audra Strickland (R)
District 38 Camron Smyth (R)
District 39 Felipe Fuentes (D)
District 40 Bob Blumenfield (D)
District 41 Julia Brownley (D)
District 42 Mike Feuer (D)
District 43 Paul Krekorian (D)
District 44 Anthony Portantino (D)
District 45 Kevin de Leon (D)
District 47 Karen Bass (D)
District 48 Mike Davis (D)
District 49 Mike Eng (D)
District 50 Hector De La Torre (D)
District 51 Curren Price (D)
District 53 Ted Lieu (D)
District 54 Bonnie Lowenthal (D)
District 55 Warren Furutani (D)
District 56 Tony Mendoza (D)
District 57 Ed Hernandez (D)
District 58 Charles Calderon (D)
District 59 Anthony Adams (R)
District 62 Wilmer Carter (D)
District 63 Bill Emmerson (R)
District 65 Paul Cook (R)
District 66 Kevin Jeffries (R)
District 67 Jim Silva (R)
District 68 Van Tran (R)
District 69 Jose Solorio (D)
District 70 Chuck DeVore (R)
District 72 Mike DuVall (R)
District 74 Martin Garrick (R)
District 76 Lori Saldana (D)
District 79 Mary Salas (D)

California Propositions
Proposition 9 is unjustly designed to change the existing procedures for granting parole to convicted individuals. If adopted, it will raise the waiting period for parole hearings up to fifteen years. This change will directly affect Hampig Sassounian’s case.

Hampig Sassounian has been in prison since 1982. His conviction was overturned by the United States Court of Appeal in 2001 based on major prosecutorial and jury misconduct. Los Angeles County District Attorney Steve Cooley decided to re-try the case in 2002. As a result Hampig took a plea bargain which entitles him to parole, based upon his 25 year to life sentence. Though he was denied parole at his first hearing last year he is entitled to a Parole hearing ever 2 years. If Proposition 9 were to pass he would only be eligible for a parole hearing every 15 YEARS!

Besides being patently unfair, such a Proposition would essentially return Hampig to a life imprisonment sentence, something that is unacceptable for all freedom and justice loving people who recognize that his case in many ways represented a scapegoating of our community and our nation for the monumental crimes of others.
Please don’t let Hampig essentially be once again re-sentenced to life imprisonment. On November 4, Vote No on Prop 9!

Hampig Sassounian Defense CommitteeVote No On Proposition 9


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.