Georgia Quits CIS

TBILISI, Georgia, June 12 (UPI) — The Georgian parliament unanimously ended the former Soviet republic’s membership in the Commonwealth of Independent States Friday.

Georgia had informed the CIS of its desire to quit the Russian-dominated organization on August 18, 2008, after a five-day war with Russia over the Georgian breakaway republic of South Ossetia, RIA-Novosti reported.

The CIS currently comprises Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Moldova, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Ukraine is a founding and participating country but technically not a member state. Turkmenistan holds associate status.


Related posts

Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.