21 Organizations Bid for Proportional Representation in May Elections

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)– The deadline for submitting applications for nomination in the upcoming parliamentary elections(party lists) was March 30. On the same day–the Central Electoral Commission held a meeting to register applications for the nomination of 9 political forces.

The "Arakelutiun" ("Mission") party–a 47-candidate slate led by Artush Papoyan–Ara Papanian and Khachik Haroutiunian.

The Ramkavar-Azatakan Party of Armenia composed of 49 candidates. The slate is topped by Haroutiun Karapetian–Rouben Mirzakhanian–Shamiram Aghabekian and Haroutiun Arakelian.

The "Arzhanapativ Apaga" ("Worthy Future") consisting of 40 candidates (registered with the Ministry of Justice on March 15–1999). The party’s proportional slate is topped by Liudmila Haroutiunian–Karlen Adamian and Stepan Tsaghikian.

The "Social Forces & Intellectuals" Union–embracing the Armenian Congress "Kaisa" public and political organization–the "Union of the Intelligentsia" and the Social Democratic Party of Armenia which consists of 47 candidates headed by Loris Kalashian–Galina Zernorusova and Grisha Astrian.

The "Free Hayk Mission" party – 11 candidates. The slate is headed by Rouben Mnatsakhanian–Konstantin Alaverdian and Hrachik Sargsian.

Armenian National Movement – 49 candidates–led by Vano Siradeghian–Hovhannes Igitian–Ararat Zourabian–Andranik Hovhakimian–Aram Manoukian and Kochar Davtian.

The "National State" party – 14 candidates led by Samvel Shahinian–Ashot Mkhitarian–Rima Soghomonian.

The "Unity" bloc: the Republican Party of Armenia and the People’s Party of Armenia – 145 candidates. The leading cnadidates are Karen Demirchian–Vazgen Sargssian–Fadei Sargssian–Andranik Margarian–Albert Bazeyan–Hamayak Hovhannissian–Tigran Torossian–Armen Khachatrian–Razmik Martirossian–Rouben Miroyan–Yuri Bakhshian.

The "Union of Communist and Socialist Parties" Bloc–including the Progressive United Communist Party (16 candidates) and "Women of Armenia" (4). The bloc’s slate consists of 23 candidates–with 3 places allotted to the Public Organizations of Depositors. The slate is headed by Vazgen Safarian–Stepan Stepanian–Vardan Khachatrian–Bagrat Gharibjanian–Zhanna Manoukian.

We also remind you that earlier the following parties were registered:

The SDU+ Bloc ("Self-Determination" Union; "Motherland-Diaspora") which is made up of 68 candidates; the slate is topped by Paruyr Hairikian–Aram Haroutiunian and Nerses Zeynalvandian.

"Orinats Yerkir" ("Country of Law") – 31 candidates–Artur Baghdasarian–Sergo Yeritsian and Stepan Barseghian.

The Armenian Revolutionary Federation bloc is made up of 70 candidates–Vahan Hovhannissian–Armen Roustamian–Rouben Hakobian–David Lokian–Alvard Petrossian–Mushegh Mikaelian–Aghvan Vardanian–Martun Martirossian–Rouben Hovsepian–Artashes Toumanian–Kim Balayan–Levon Mkrtchian–Roland Sharoyan–Rouben Sahakian.

NDU consisting of 76 candidates–headed by–Vazgen Manoukian–Arshak Sadoyan–David Vardanian–Shavarsh Kocharian.

"Mighty Motherland" – 45 candidates–led by–Vardan Vardapetian–Stepan Margarian–Hovhannes Ayvazian.

DPA – 40 candidates–Aram Sargssian–Rafik Arakelian–Karine Danielian–Rafael Hovhannissian.

"Hayrenik" Bloc ("Democratic Motherland" – 29 candidates–"Intellectual Armenia" – 13 candidates)–a total of 42 candidates–front-rank – Edward Yegorian–Petros Makeyan–Mkrtich Gimishian and Hovhannes Tokmajian.

"Law & Union" Bloc ("National Unity" – 23 candidates;"Constitutional Right" Union – 47 candidates–"Artsakh-Hayastan" – 17–"Gardmank" – 10 candidates)–97 candidates altogether. The Union is headed by Artashes Geghamian–Hrant Khachatrian–Hayk Baboukhanian–Aghasi Arshakian and Alexan Karapetian.

The Youth Part of Armenia made up of 15 candidates led by Sargis Asatrian–Martik Kirakossian and Ara Rostomian.

"Shamiram" made up of 11 candidates headed by Shoher Matevossian–Angela Bakunts–Mariam Kirakossian–Nana Togoshvili.

"Azatutyun" party – 28 candidates–led by–ex-premier Hrant Bagratian–Artashes Arakelian andStepan Badalian.

Communist Party – 72 candidates–Sergey Badalian–Vladimir Darbinian and Leonid Hakobian.

Thus–a total of 21 applications were registered for nomination. 20 of the organizations are collecting signatures in support of their nominations as SDU+ presented 130 blanks with 38,099 signatures to the CEC on March 29. The deadline for submitting documen’s to the CEC is April 15 at 6:00 p.m. The registrations are to be made by April 25 at 6 p.m.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.