Armenian Caucus Members Introduce Bill Affirming US Record on Genocide

* Bipartisan group of 60 representatives launch drive to increase public awareness of century’s first genocide.

WASHINGTON (ANN/Groong)–A bipartisan group of 60 legislators today introduced a bill in the US House of Representatives affirming the US record on the Armenian Genocide and increasing access by the public to the extensive US historical documentation of this century’s first genocide.

The Armenian Assembly of America and the Armenian National Committee of America welcomed the introduction of the legislation–known as "The US Record on the Armenian Genocide" bill. If adopted–this bill would call upon the President to make US documentation of the Genocide more accessible to the public. Earlier today–the bill was introduced by Congressman George Radanovich (R-Calif.)–Minority Whip David Bonior (D-Mich.)–Representative James Rogan (R-Calif.)–and Armenian Caucus Co-Chairmen Frank Pallone (D-NJ) and John Edward Porter (R-Ill.).

Joining these five as original cosponsors of the bill were Representatives: Gary Ackerman (D-NY)–Robert Andrews (D-NJ)–Howard Berman (D-Calif.)–Brian Bilbray (R-Calif.)–Rod Blagojevich (D-Ill.)–Tom Bliley (R-Va.)–Lois Capps (D-Calif.)–Michael Capuano (D-Mass.)–William Clay (D-Mo.)–Jerry Costello (D-Ill.)–Joe Crowley (D-NY)–Julian Dixon (D-Calif.)–Calvin Dooley (D-Calif.)–Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.)–Bob Fran’s (R-NJ)–Joel Hefley (R-Colo.)–Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)–Stephen Horn (R-Calif.)–John Kasich (R-Ohio)–Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)–Dale Kildee (D-Mich.)–Peter King (R-NY)–Gerald Kleczka (D-Wis.)–Joe Knollenberg (R-Mich.)–John Larson (D-Conn.)–Sander Levin (D-Mich.)–Bill Lipinski (D-IL)–Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)–Edward Markey (D-Mass.)–Matthew Martinez (D-Calif.)–Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)–John McHugh (R- NY)–Howard McKeon (R-Calif.)–Jim McGovern (D-Mass.)–Mike McNulty (D- NY)–Marty Meehan (D-Mass.)–Bob Menendez (D-NJ)–Joe Moakley (D-Mass.)–Jim Moran (D-Va.)–Connie Morella (R-Md.)–Richard Neal (D-Mass.)–David Obey (D-Wis.)–John Olver (D-Mass.)–Steve Rothman (D-NJ)–Edward Royce (R-Calif.)–Bobby Rush (D-Ill.)–Jim Saxton (R-NJ)–Brad Sherman (D-Calif.)–Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)–John Tierney (D-Mass.)–Bill Thomas (R-Calif.)–Peter Visclosky (D-IN)–Henry Waxman (D-Calif.)–Lynn Woolsey (D-Calif.)–and Albert Wynn (D-Md.).

The bill specifically calls upon the President to collect all US records on the Armenian Genocide and provide them to the House International Relations Committee–the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Library–and the Armenian Genocide Museum in Yerevan–Armenia. The bill includes a series of eighteen Congressional findings which document the US and international record on the Armenian Genocide.

Following the bill’s introduction today–it will be referred to the International Relations Committee–which will need to act on the measure before it moves to the floor for a vote by the full US House of Representatives. This process will last anywhere from several months to a year. The ANCA. and Assembly have set April 24–2000 as the target date for the bill to become law and have moved to encourage Armenian Americans and friends to educate their US Representatives regarding this legislation and to ask for their support for its passage. The Capitol Switchboard can be reached at (202) 225-3121.

For additional information please contact either the ANCA at (202) 775-1918 or the Armenian Assembly at (202) 393-3434.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.