Only 44 Deputies Produce Declarations in Prescribed Manner

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–At the Central Electoral Commission’s (CEC) August 6 meeting–Head of the CEC Supervisory Service Ara Harutiunian made a report concerning declarations produced by candidates for Parliament at the parliamentary elections on May 30 1999.

According to data–165 of the 630 candidates for Parliament produced declarations on the cash flow in their election funds; 21 of the declarations indicated "zero" flow. 44 candidates for Parliament incurred expenses without setting up election funds; the expenses were acquired from the party and other funds. 94 candidates set up election funds and incurred expenses from them–but did not produce declarations. Another 40 candidates did not set up election funds–did not produce declarations–but incurred expenses. 288 candidates incurred expenses–but did not produce declarations–and the CEC Supervisory Service failed to find out whether or not they set up election funds.

The CEC decided to publish detailed data on the declarations produced by the afore-mentioned persons. As for the data on the candidates who violated the provisions of the Electoral Law on setting up election funds and producing declarations–the CEC decided to send this data to the court. The CEC suggested that these candidates be held responsible in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Armenian legislation on administrative violations.

Except for 125 candidates for Parliament–who set up election funds–incurred expenses and produced declarations in accordance with procedures established by law–the majority of candidates are most likely to undergo administrative penalties.

It should be noted that only 44 of the afore-mentioned 125 candidates were elected deputies of Parliament. The remaining 31 deputies elected by the single-mandate election system will be sent to court. Among those under suspicion are the deputies of Parliament of the previous convocation who participated in the adoption of the Electoral Law–and relevant amendmen’s to the Criminal Law and legislation on administrative violations. Among deputies violating the afore-mentioned provisions are "CPA" faction member Leonid Hakobian–"Unity" faction member Harutiun Karagezian–"Stability" deputy group member Vahagn Grigorian–and others. Iranian Foreign Minister Arrives In Armenia


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.