AEF Awards $63 000 in Scholarships

GLENDALE–Armenian Educational Foundation awarded $63,000 in scholarships this year. This amount includes $24,000 to students attending State University of Armenia and Yerevan State university–$6,000 in Jorjorian Scholarships for students at Haigazian College and American University of Beirut–and $5,000 each to the Antelias and Etchmiadzin seminaries.

At its Tenth Annual Scholarship Awards Luncheon–held on June 4th–AEF awarded $23,000 in scholarships to students attending universities in the United States. All recipients were recognized for their academic achievemen’s and community service.

The Richard R. Tufenkian Memorial Scholarships–established by Savey and Ralph Tufenkian in memory of their son–were presented to six undergraduate students. Receiving $2,000 each were: Shushan Avagyan (Art History-Cedar Crest College); Karolin Cakirdes (Finance-New York University); Lilit Kazarian (Communications & International Relations-University of Maryland); Tamar Kolejian (Information Systems-University of Maryland); Tsoghig Margossian (Political Science & History-UCLA); and Jayson Milnes (Engineering-CSU Fresno).

Four $1,500 Sophia Hagopian Memorial Scholarships–established in memory of AEF’s first major benefactor–were awarded to the following undergraduate students: Armen Choulakian (Medical Doctor-University of Missouri): Ani Danielian (International Relations-Standford): Angela Karaguezian (Business-Loyola Maramount): Lilit Keshishyan (English-UCLA).

The Abraham Garabedian Memorial Fellowship in the amount of $1000 was established to encourage teachers at Armenian day schools to pursue a teaching credential or graduate degree in education. This year’s recipients were: Maria Karnigian–a 20-year teacher at Alex Pilibos Armenian School–and Paul Narguizian–teacher at the Arshag Dickranian Armenian School.

The AEF encourages not only the teachers at Armenian schools–but also their students to pursue higher education. AEF awarded $500 scholarships to graduating seniors from five Southern California Armenian high schools. The scholarship recipients were: Dikran Sevlian-Mesrobian School: Arusiak Kharadjian-Arshag Dickranian; Anoush Avedissian-AGBU Manoogian-Demirdjian School; Hakop Uzunyan-Alex Pilibos School; and Boghos Tavidian and Ovsanna Karaoghlanian-Ferrahian School.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.