By Elections to Parliament in Four Districts to Be Held in Mid October

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–By-elections to the National Assembly in four electoral districts (N 9 and N 10 in Yerevan; N 29 in the region of Ararat and N 55 in the region of Kotayk) will be held on October 15. Anahit Balasanian–the Secretary of the City Electoral Commission of Yerevan–told Noyan Tapan that two candidates in Yerevan’s electoral districts NN 9 and 10 had submitted the documen’s requisite for nomination within the fixed period–including the minimum of 500 signatures. In electoral district N 9–nominees are: Deputy Director of the Erebuni affiliate of the Yerevan Electricity Network CJSC Grigor Madatian–Minister of Transport and Communications Eduard Madatian–and post-graduate student of the Chair of Civil Law from Yerevan State University Armen Danielian. In electoral district N 10 the nominees are: Chairman of the Progressive Communist Party of Armenia–Advisor to the Executive Director of the Haytran’shin–Vazgen Safarian and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Yerevan Mixed Fodder Gevorg Hakobian.

Besides Vazgen Safarian–who was nominated by the PCPA–all the other candidates were nominated by initiative groups of citizens. The deadline for registration of candidates is September 10–6 p.m. In the meantime–the Yerevan City Electoral Commission will have verified the documen’s submitted by candidates–in particular–the authenticity of citizens’ signatures.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.