Armenian Scientists Receive IAE Awards

YEREVAN (Noyan Tapan)–On the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the International Academy of Engineering–the IAE Council of Presidents granted awards to a number of Armenian scientists and engineers.

The highest award–the Big Silver Medal–was awarded to IAE Academician–Academician of the Armenian National Academy of Sciences (ANAS) and Academician of the Academy of Engineering of Armenia (AEA)–Sergey Hambartsumian for his works in mechanics. Hambartsumian is the 20th scientist and the third in Armenia to receive this award during IAE’s 10-year activities. The other awardees were ANAS President Fadey Sargssian and AEA President Yuri Khojamirian.

The honorary title of "Outstanding Engineer of the 20th century" was conferred on two scientists from Armenia–Vadim Alexeyevsky and Grigory Poghossian. The title "Honored Engineer of Russia" was also given to Sergey Minassian.

Diplomas of honor were presented to Aida Avetissian–Konstantin Malkhassian–Manvel Harutiunian–Hrant Babayan–Adolph Mnatashian–and Sergey Shahinian.

In his congratulatory speech AEA President Yuri Khojamirian addressed the AEA’s tasks–stressing that they are aimed at solving Armenia’s most acute economic problems.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.