ARF Presents List of Candidates for Parliamentary Elections

YEREVAN (Combined Sources)–Deputy parliament speaker Vahan Hovhanesian will lead Armenian Revolutionary Federation’s (ARF) list of candidates in Armenia’s parliamentary elections scheduled for May 12. Other heavy hitters on the ARF list include Armen Rustamian, the head of a parliamen’s’ committee on foreign affairs, and the country’s agricultural minister David Lokian. Armenia’s electoral system dictates that 56 members of parliament be elected through a party-list proportional representation system and 75 members by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms. Based on ARF’s list submitted to the Central Election Commission on Saturday, its second tier candidates include Alvard Petrosian, Artyush Shahbazian and current education and science minister Levon Mkrtchian. Former defense minister Arthur Aghabekian is tenth line.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.