Senators Durbin And Ensign Introduce Armenian Genocide Resolution – Over 20 Senators join as original cosponsors to resolution calling for proper US reaffirmation of Armenian Genocide

WASHINGTON, DC–The Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA) welcomed the introduction of the Armenian Genocide Resolution in the US Senate on March 14, by Assistant Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Senator John Ensign (R-NV). The measure is similar to the House Armenian Genocide resolution (H.Res.106), introduced by Representatives Adam Schiff (D-CA), George Radanovich (R-CA), and Congressional Armenian Caucus Co-Chairs Frank Pallone (D-NJ) and Joe Knollenberg (R-MI), which currently has over 180 cosponsors. In introducing the measure, Assistant Majority Leader Durbin noted, "We must honor those who died in the Armenian Genocide by recognizing their suffering and by dedicating ourselves to preventing human’suffering and tragedy in the future. It is important and long past time that the United States speak with appropriate clarity on this historical fact." Sen. John Ensign added that "The murder and torture of the Armenian people was undeniably genocide, and we must recognize this terrible reality. We are a nation that embraces freedom and justice, and we have a responsibility to uphold these values in order to not repeat the mistakes of the past. This important resolution officially recognizes history and the truth of the crime of genocide perpetuated against the Armenia’s."We appreciate the leadership of Richard Durbin and John Ensign and value the strong support of their Senate colleagues for the introduction today of this anti-genocide legislation," said Aram Hamparian, Executive Director of the ANCA. "Armenian Americans around the nation are joined by all those devoted to ending the cycle of genocide in looking forward to the early adoption of the Armenian Genocide Resolution." Joining Senators Durbin and Ensign as original cosponsors of the Armenian Genocide resolution are Senators Wayne Allard (R-CO), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Norm Coleman (R-MN), Susan Collins (R-ME), Christopher Dodd (D-CT), Elizabeth Dole (R-NC), Russell Feingold (D-WI), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Edward Kennedy (D-MA), John Kerry (D-MA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), Joseph Lieberman (I-CT), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Jack Reed (D-RI), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), John Sununu (R-NH), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI). The resolution calls upon the President "to ensure that the foreign policy of the United States reflects appropriate understanding and sensitivity concerning issues related to human rights, ethnic cleansing, and genocide documented in the United States record relating to the Armenian Genocide." The resolution includes thirty detailed findings from past US hearings, resolutions and Presidential statemen’s on the Armenian Genocide from 1916 through the present, as well as references to statemen’s by international bodies and organizations.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.