New National Assembly Convenes; Elects Leadership

The Parliament's new leadership convenes legislative session

YEREVAN (Combined Sources)–The fourth National Assembly of independent Armenia began its first session on Thursday with a collective oath of allegiance to Armenia’s constitution.
The 131-member legislative body was greeted by President Robert Kocharian, as well as His Holiness Karekin II, Catholicos of All Armenia’s who gave his blessing to the newly elected parliament and said a prayer.
The ceremonial part was followed by the election of parliament leadership. The sole nominee for the Speaker’s post, Tigran Torosian, was installed in his former position due to the overwhelming backing of his Republican Party and its partners, Prosperous Armenia and the Armenian Revolutionary Federation.
Deputies voted in a secret ballot by 112 to 2 to allow Torosian to continue as parliament speaker.
The deputies also overwhelmingly appointed Prosperous Armenia’s Ishkhan Zakarian and ARF’s Vahan Hovannesian as deputy speakers.
Kocharian has congratulated Torosian on his reelection as chairman of Armenia’s new parliament.
In a message to Torosian Kocharian said he is confident that Torosian will use his knowledge and experience to deepen the process of reforms and boost the country’s progress.
Addressing fellow lawmakers, Vahan Hovannesian said he would continue to do what he did while serving as deputy parliament chairman over the last four years.
“If you find that I worked well, I will continue working in that manner, if not I will try to work better,” he said.
Hovannesian said a new political culture has emerged in Armenia with hostile radical political groups being left outside the National Assembly.
“Radicalism has no future and this parliament has become a hub of centrist forces,” he said.
The Republican Party of Armenia will have leadership in five of the nine committees, including the committee on education, science and culture, the committee on finance and crediting, the committee on state and legal issues (to be headed by ex-justice minister David Harutiunian), the committee on economic issues (headed by former environment minister Vartan Ayvazian) and the committee on health, environment protection and social issues.
Prosperous Armenia will lead the committees on human rights protection and public affairs and on European integration. And the ARF will lead the foreign relations and defense committees. ARF Supreme Council of Armenia representative Armen Rustamian will retain the chairmanship of the foreign relations committee, while former deputy defense minister and ARF parliamentary faction member Artur Aghabekian will chair the committee of defense and national security.
Also today, President Robert Kocharian accepted the resignation of the government, instructing its current members to continue in office until the formation of the new cabinet. By another decree he appointed Serzh Sarkisian Armenia’s prime minister.
By the Armenian constitution, a new government must be formed within 20 days after the appointment of the prime minister and it will have 20 days to submit its program of action to the National Assembly for approval.
Under the coalition agreement between the Republican Party and Prosperous Armenia and their cooperation deal with the ARF, the president will have the prerogative of naming and recalling the ministers of foreign affairs, justice and defense. The ARF will have the same rights in two ministries–agriculture and education; Prosperous Armenia will have its ministers of health, urban development, youth and sport (a ministry separated from the former ministry of culture). The Republican Party will have its say in all the rest ministries.
Absent from the inaugural session were opposition lawmakers, including elected deputies from ex-parliament speaker Artur Baghdasarian’s Orinats Yerkir and ex-foreign minister Raffi Hovannisian-led Heritage party.
Hovannisian explained that the first session of the fourth National Assembly was to have taken place the previous day pursuant to the Constitution. He said that his Heritage party had not received, in a manner reflective of the rule of law, due notice of that session or any invitation.
Besides, he said, Heritage found it impossible to be present at any parliament session until the Constitutional Court decided on the validity of the parliamentary elections.
Both Heritage and Orinats Yerkir have not yet collected their parliamentary mandates at the Central Election Commission. Orinats Yerkir’s Hovannes Markarian said their party is also waiting for the Court’s ruling due before June 10, but said they will pick their mandates no matter what the final verdict is. “People trusted us in the ballot and the mandates are a vote of public confidence,” he explained.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.