Turkey, Azerbaijan Say No to Regional Cooperation at PACE

STRASBOURG (ArmRadio)–Turkey and Azerbaijan refused to sign during Friday’s session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe an Armenian drafted resolution, which sought to increase regional stability and cooperation in the South Caucasus.
Member of the Armenian Delegation to PACE Avet Adonts told ArmRadio that the draft he proposed mainly refers to the development of cooperation in regions where tension and conflicts currently exist.
Adonts said the draft resolution was signed by representatives from 20 PACE member states, except for Azerbaijan and Turkey, which refused to sign onto the resolution.
"The interesting thing is that when suggested to sign the draft resolution, the delegates of Azerbaijan and Turkey refused to do it," he explained. "I think that this once again speaks about the latter’s so-called ‘constructive’ way of action within the framework of regional cooperation."
"The text [of the resolution] is very simple," Adonts, who is the representative from the Prosperous Armenia Party, said. "There is no reference to the Nagorno Karabakh conflict. Generally, no country is mentioned in the draft–neither Azerbaijan, nor Armenia."
The resolution simply states the facts, their importance and the necessity for greater cooperation, he said.
The fact that they refused to sign a general document calling for cooperation and stability reflects the need to deepen and develop regional cooperation in the framework of the resolution of existing conflicts, he explained.


Related posts

Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.