Armenia to Assume Black Sea Economic Organization’s Presidency

YEREVAN (ArmRadio)–Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian met in Yerevan Monday with the Secretary General of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization Leonidas Chrysanthopoulos. The two discussed Armenia’s upcoming presidency of the regional economic bloc.

Armenia is set to take on its presidency on October 1. The organization includes Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Montenegro, Turkey and Ukraine.

During their discussions, references were made to the primary direction of the BSEC, as well as upcoming reforms. The BSEC was established in 1992 to as a multilateral political and economic initiative aimed at fostering interaction and harmony among the Member States, as well as to ensure peace, stability and prosperity encouraging friendly and good-neighborly relations in the Black Sea region.

During the meeting Nalbandian noted that Armenia considers cooperation in the fields of energy, transport, telecommunication, information technologies as vital. He underscored also that Armenia intends to ensure continuity and innovation in BSEC activity.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.