Armenian Genocide Resolution Cosponsors Grow To 125

Representatives from Iowa, Oregon, Illinois, and Kentucky Join Bipartisan Genocide Prevention Measure


WASHINGTON–The number of U.S. House cosponsors of the Armenian Genocide Resolution (H.Res.252) grew to 125 on Tuesday, reported the Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA).

Congressmen Bruce Braley (D-IA), Peter Defazio (D-OR), Bobby Rush (D-IL), and John Yarmouth (D-KY) joined the list of growing cosponsors to take the number to 125.

The Armenian Genocide Resolution specifically “1) calls upon the President to ensure that the foreign policy of the United States reflects appropriate understanding and sensitivity concerning issues related to human rights, ethnic cleansing, and genocide documented in the United States record relating to the Armenian Genocide and the consequences of the failure to realize a just resolution; and 2) calls upon the President in the President’s annual message commemorating the Armenian Genocide issued on or about April 24, to accurately characterize the systematic and deliberate annihilation of 1,500,000 Armenians as genocide and to recall the proud history of United States intervention in opposition to the Armenian Genocide.”

The measure was introduced on March 17th of the year by lead sponsors Adam Schiff (D-CA) and George Radanovich (R-CA), and Congressional Armenian Caucus Co-chairs Frank Pallone (D-NJ) and Mark Kirk (R-IL). It is identical to legislation in the House and Senate in the 110th Congress that was adopted by the House Foreign Affairs Committee, and publicly endorsed by then-candidate for President Barack Obama, current Vice President Joe Biden and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton. Since the introduction of the current resolution this March, President Obama has broken his pledge to recognize the Armenian Genocide, retreating markedly from repeated statements and promises he made throughout his service in the Senate calling for proper U.S. condemnation and commemoration of this crime against humanity.

H.Res.252 has been referred to the House Foreign Affairs Committee.

The full listing of cosponsors who have joined with Reps. Schiff, Radanovich, Pallone and Kirk in support of the Armenian Genocide Resolution is as follows:

Abercrombie, Neil (D-HI)
Ackerman, Gary (D-NY)
Adler, John (D-NJ)
Andrews, Robert (D-NJ)
Baca, Joe (D-CA)
Bachmann, Michele Marie (R-MN)
Bartlett, Roscoe (R-MD)
Becerra, Xavier (D-CA)
Berkley, Shelley (D-NV)
Berman, Howard (D-CA)
Bilirakis, Gus (R-FL)
Braley, Bruce (D-IA)
Calvert, Ken (R-CA)
Cantor, Eric (R-VA)
Capps, Lois (D-CA)
Capuano, Michael (D-MA)
Cardoza, Dennis (D-CA)
Cleaver, Emanuel (D-MO)
Conyers, John (D-MI)
Costa, Jim (D-CA)
Costello, Jerry (D-IL)
Courtney, Joe (D-CT)
Crowley, Joseph (D-NY)
Davis, Danny (D-IL)
DeFazio, Peter (D-OR)
DeGette, Diana (D-CO)
DeLauro, Rosa (D-CT)
Doggett, Lloyd (D-TX)
Dreier, David (R-CA)
Eshoo, Anna (D-CA)
Farr, Sam (D-CA)
Fattah, Chaka (D-PA)
Filner, Bob (D-CA)
Frank, Barney (D-MA)
Frelinghuysen, Rodney (R-NJ)
Garrett, Scott (R-NJ)
Gonzalez, Charlie (D-TX)
Grijalva, Raul (D-AZ)
Himes, Jim (D-CT)
Hinchey, Maurice (D-NY)
Hirono, Mazie (D-HI)
Holt, Rush (D-NJ)
Honda, Michael (D-CA)
Hoyer, Steny (D-MD)
Jackson, Jesse (D-IL)
Kennedy, Patrick (D-RI)
Kildee, Dale (D-MI)
Kucinich, Dennis (D-OH)
Lance, Leonard (R-NJ)
Langevin, James (D-RI)
Larson, John (D-CT)
Lee, Barbara (D-CA)
Levin, Sander (D-MI)
Lipinski, Daniel (D-IL)
LoBiondo, Frank (R-NJ)
Lofgren, Zoe (D-CA)
Lowey, Nita (D-NY)
Lungren, Dan (R-CA)
Lynch, Stephen (D-MA)
Maloney, Carolyn (D-NY)
Markey, Edward (D-MA)
Matsui, Doris (D-CA)
McCarthy, Carolyn (D-NY)
McCaul, Michael (R-TX)
McCollum, Betty (D-MN)
McCotter, Thaddeus (R-MI)
McGovern, James (D-MA)
McKeon, Buck (R-CA)
McNerney, Jerry (D-CA)
Miller, Candice (R-MI)
Minnick, Walter (D-ID)
Murphy, Chris (D-CT)
Nadler, Jerrold (D-NY)
Napolitano, Grace (D-CA)
Neal, Richard (D-MA)
Nunes, Devin (R-CA)
Olver, John (D-MA)
Payne, Donald (D-NJ)
Perriello , Tom (D-VA)
Peters, Gary (D-MI)
Peterson, Collin (D-MN)
Polis, Jared (D-CO)
Quigley, Mike (D-IL)
Rangel, Charles (D-NY)
Roskam, Peter (R-IL)
Rothman, Steven (D-NJ)
Roybal-Allard, Lucille (D-CA)
Royce, Edward (R-CA)
Rush, Bobby (D-IL)
Ryan, Paul (R-WI)
Salazar, John (D-CO)
Sanchez, Loretta (D-CA)
Sarbanes, John (D-MD)
Schakowsky, Janice (D-IL)
Schauer, Mark (D-MI)
Schwartz, Allyson (D-PA)
Sensenbrenner, F. James (R-WI)
Sherman, Brad (D-CA)
Sires, Albio (D-NJ)
Smith, Christopher (R-NJ)
Souder, Mark (R-IN)
Space, Zachary (D-OH)
Speier, Jackie (D-CA)
Stark, Pete (D-CA)
Sutton, Betty Sue (D-OH)
Tauscher, Ellen (D-CA)
Tierney, John (D-MA)
Titus, Dina (D-NV)
Tonko, Paul (D-NY)
Tsongas, Niki (D-MA)
Van Hollen, Christopher (D-MD)
Visclosky, Peter (D-IN)
Walz, Timothy (D-MN)
Waters, Maxine (D-CA)
Watson, Diane (D-CA)
Waxman, Henry (D-CA)
Weiner, Anthony (D-NY)
Wolf, Frank (R-VA)
Woolsey, Lynn (D-CA)
Wu, David (D-OR)
Yarmuth, John (D-KY)


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.


  1. Zaven G. said:

    Dear ANCA:
    We may have lost one fight on April 24th but the war is not over.
    The best response to both the Turkish and Armenian governments this year is to pass this resolution with overwhelming support. One lost fight wont keep a determined Armenian down for long.
    It’s time to hit back hard.
    125 and counting…