Turkey to Chair UN Security Council in June

UNITED NATIONS (Combined Sources)–Turkey will take over the rotating presidency of the United Nations Security Council from Russia for one month on June 1.

All Security Council meetings in that month will be chaired by the Turkish Ambassador to the UN, Baki Ilkin.

Each Council member presides over the 15-country Security Council for one month. The rotation goes in alphabetical order by country name.

The council has 15 members. Five of them are permanent members — China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States — and 10 elected by the General Assembly for a two-year term.

Turkey was elected a non-permanent member in October 2008.


Related posts

Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.