Medvedev, Obama Congratulate Armenia’s Independence

Presidents Obama and Medvedev

YEREVAN—Russian President Demitry Medvedev and President Barack Obama were among many world leaders who sent congratulatory messages ahead of the 20th anniversary of the re-establishment of Armenia’s Independence, reported Armenia’s presidential office.

“I wholeheartedly congratulate you and our friend, the Armenian people, on the occasion of 20th anniversary of proclamation of Armenia’s independence. During these years your republic has registered notable successes in economic and social realms, and has strengthened its reputation in international community. We note with gratification that the traditional friendly relations of Armenia and Russia have been strengthened on a new level,” said Medvedev in his message.

“I am sure that efficient political dialogue and coordinated efforts within the framework of integration structures in the CIS territory will benefit the people of Armenia and Russia on the long term and play an important role in the dynamic development of bilateral relations, and in strengthening of security and stability in the region,” added Medvedev.

“On behalf of US people, I congratulate you and Armenian people on the occasion of your national holiday – September 21,” said Obama in his message.

“During these days of celebration of 20th anniversary we highly appraise the historical ties existing between our two countries. As a nation, which has been enriched with contribution of several generations of Americans of Armenian descent, the US is proud to follow together with you the path leading to democratization, welfare and peace.
The partnership between the United Nations and Armenia is firm, and the friendship between our people – permanent,” added Obama.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.